Today at work again I had a lovely chat with my workmates about my diet, (which I love to do by the way) and what I eat and what I don’t eat. And it really got me thinking about why I eat the way I do, and how that has changed so much over the past couple of years. I am a vegan and intolerant to gluten, dairy and soy.

As an introduction, I will tell you what I eat now:

Fruit and vegies, and plenty of them, and yes that includes potatoes. I try to limit my garlic and onion as it doesn’t agree with me.

At this time of year, soup is king. I have it at least once a day. And I throw everything in. If you follow me on Instagram (alsone765) you will see the sort of stuff I throw in. Everything but the kitchen sink (except for onions, garlic and oil.) And I use Vegetta gluten free, vegan stock.

Herbs and spices – when was the last time you had Cardamom? Rediscover it, its a beauty.

Herbamare is a great seasoning and I put it on just about everything. Even salads.

For butter I use Nuttalex.

I don’t eat bread currently as I am yet to find a gluten free one that doesn’t contain soy or dairy.

Quinoa, brown rice, legumes and beans (chickpeas don’t tend to agree with me)

Nuts and seeds – these make up the bulk of my diet. Nut butters too, except for peanut and only the organic stuff.

My cheese alternative is cashew cheese! It is amazing, you can make it yourself or try the Botanicals Cuisine brand, which is made in Melbourne.

For sweet treats, the above brand also makes ‘icecream’ made out of cashews – so delish but beware it is sweetened with Agave and this does not agree with everyone.

Coconut butter, milk, water, oil, cream etc etc!

My milk alternatives are Almond milk and rice milk.

Instead of Cabury’s or sugar laden chocolate, I make my own or enjoy coconut mylk chocolate made by ‘Loving Earth’. Great brand with a lot of amazing products.

Panty staples include Raw Cacao, Maca and Mesquite powders, ready to pop into a smoothie or Bliss Balls at any given moment.

I don’t eat traditional pasta as it is so highly refined and full of gluten.. (not because I am scared of carbs). I have Mung Bean pasta or make my own ‘pasta’ out of zucchini.

I stay away from anything that is highly processed or full of preservatives. If it is in a box, it was probably made in a science lab. If you can’t recognise the ingredients on the box, then your body won’t either. I buy my fruit and veg from my local green grocer or farmer’s market. Organic first where ever possible. I know this means my shopping bill is high and things are expensive, but If i ever get cancer then the cost will be much higher and on so many other levels.

A wise woman once told me, ‘If it has a barcode, it doesn’t belong in your body” and that’s the way I try to eat. As close to nature as possible, buying my own ingredients to make my own creations. 

Sugar causes cancer. It stuffs around with your metabolism and your hormones, so I don’t eat it. And because by body is free from candida, I don’t crave it either.

Part 2 – coming soon

Al xx

