So I am female, so the chances of me participating in Movember are (hopefully) non existent.

That was until I made this awesome connection this morning …

I have a green smoothie most days. They are mostly full of kale, banana, coconut water, superfoods and all the good stuff. They are well known now as a great way to get in nutrients and are quick and easy to make.

For those who haven’t come across her yet – Jess Ainscough aka  “The Wellness Warrior” is the queen of green smoothies. She even put out a free recipe ebook on her website when you subscribe to her email. She calls this ebook, The Green Mo Revolution. If you live in Australia you would certainly remember the run of TV commercials for the dairy industry in the 90s where celebrities drank milk and then had a mustache of milk left on their upper lip. Folk in the wellness world know that milk is not actually ok for our bodies. Milk is the one thing that everyone has some form of intolerance to (I learnt this is some allergy and asthma training I did for my work in Child Care). We actually lose the enzyme to digest cow’s milk at 2 years of age. Quite simply, our bodies cannot digest it.

Can you remember feeling bloated and crap after a yogurt or milk shake??

So Jess’ idea was to replace the milk mo with a green mo. Much much better for us, and the poor creatures that have to endure the dairy industry. That’s my vegan evangelizing coming out. If you want to find out more about this, please google it, I won’t go into it on this post.

Anyhoo, if you want to read more about Jess and her wellness world, and get some awesome green smoothie recipes, go to http://www.thewellnesswarrior.com.au/

So how does this all fit in with Movember?? Easy! I am going to make sure I have a green smoothie each day in November. I might even try some new recipes. In the mean time, enjoy this recipe of mine, my most favourite and most basic recipe. A great one to start with if you are new to the green smoothie game. Your taste buds will take a bit of time to get used to eating this way, give it time and don’t quite! Your health will thank you for it!

Al’s Green Smoothie

1 cup of coconut water

3 pieces of frozen banana (Break your nani up into 3/4 inch pieces and throw into a plastic zip lock bag in the freezer)

2 kale stems – only the leaves

Juice of half a lemon, or lime

1 teaspoon of lumuca powder

1 teaspoon maca powder

Blitz in the blender. I don’t have any fancy pants blender, just a regular old Kambrook. If yout blender isn’t too happy with it, do the coconut water and the banana first for a little while before adding the kale etc.

Drink strait away, green smoothies don’t like being left in the fridge or in glass bottles in the light. Makes them go off.

ImageEnjoy

Al x

