So some might call me a spoil sport, others may appreciate my efforts.  But for better or worse I have taken one of my son’s favourite party recipes and made a heathier option. Hedge Hog has long been a favourite of my family. I can remember my mum making it for every birthday party and Christmas, and as a treat or for a special occasion. When I had my son almost 6 years ago, my one request was that she make me some hedgehog. Well ‘some’ turned out to be an entire tupperware container full! Over the years she has occasionally ‘fiddled’ with the recipe, using a different brand of cocoa powder and I always could tell.

But now that I am vegan and a much healthier eater, good old Hedge Hog just doesn’t cut it any more. So on the occasion of my son’s class party this week, I decided it was time it got a make over…

The regular recipe contains 1 egg, 1 cup of sugar, sugar laden cocoa powder and icing sugar, amongst other things. So my challenge tonight was to create the same intense flavour without all the crap.

So here it is, my Healthified Hedge Hog

1 packet gluten free, vegan arrowroot or plain sweet biscuits
4 ounces nuttelex or alternative vegan ‘butter’
1 table spoon Raw Cacao Powder
2 soup spoons of Coconut sugar (sorry i didn’t measure out by tablespoons/teaspoons)
1 teaspoon good quality vanilla powder or essence
1 chia egg (1 tablespoon ground chia seeds mixed with 3 tablespoons of warm water and sit for 2-3 minutes)
1/2 teaspoon of maple syrup

Mix the all ingredients apart from the biscuits on a low heat on the stove, until all melted and combined.

Remove from heat.
Crush the biccies in a food processor or with a rolling pin until they are still a little chunky, you don’t want them powder fine.
Add the biccies to the wet mix and combine well.
Press out into a lined tray.

Instead of the icing sugar and hundreds and thousands on top, I sprinkle on desiccated coconut, before putting into the fridge to set.

And I have to admit, these taste pretty damn good, and are just as sweet.

Enjoy

Al xx

Image

